All three incumbents won re-election to the Stoughton Area school board Monday night, as four candidates vied for three open seats, each with three-year terms.

Jill Patterson, Joe Freye, and Yolibeth Rangel-Fitzgibbon moved on after a challenge from newcomer Shawn Rundblade. Patterson was the leading vote-getter with 3,257, followed by Freye (2,947), Rangel-Fitzgibbon (2,428) and Rundblade (1,514). There were also 76 write-in votes.

Five seats were up on the Common Council, but there were only four candidates running. Jean Ligocki, Leonard (Ozzie) Doom and incumbents Timothy Riley and Tom Majewski all won their races, and all were unopposed.

For the District 1 seat being vacated by outgoing alder Denise Duranczyk, Brett Schumacher won with 22 write-in votes out of a total 48 cast. Two others tied with four votes each.

In Rutland, incumbent David Grueneberg defeated challenger David Krueger 326 votes to 184 for a town supervisor position.

Patterson, 43, has been on the school board since May 2018, when she was appointed over two other candidates by board members to succeed Donna Tarpinian. Freye, 49, is the longest-tenured member of the board, having been first elected in 2013, and is the vice president board

Rangel-Fitzgibbon, 48, a Dunkirk resident, has been on the board since 2015 and is the clerk. Rundblade, 39, moved to the Stoughton area last year. He was a 2018 Democratic candidate who sought election to Wisconsin’s 5th Congressional District before dropping out of the race, as he was leaving the district.

Town of Rutland

In Rutland, Grueneberg and Krueger had opposed one another in town meetings over issues of noise and dealing with the Madison International Speedway.

For constable, three men were running for two positions. Incumbents Nels Wethal, with 314 votes, and Shawn Hillested, with 251, beat out challenger Steven Williams, who earned 211 votes.

Peter Loughrin, who was running unopposed, will be the town’s next chair, succeeding Mark Porter.