City of Stoughton voters will have at least two open seats on the Common Council on the spring ballot.

Those will be the most significant open seats in the Stoughton area for the April 2019 election, which candidates can now circulate nominations papers for. Candidates must turn in the required signatures to their local clerk by 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 2, to get on the ballot.

Other races in the area include three seats on the Stoughton Area school board, and multiple elections in the towns of Rutland, Dunkirk and Pleasant Springs.

County and statewide elections include the open seat of state Supreme Court Justice Shirley Abrahamson, a Dane County circuit court seat and a Court of Appeals judge.

The general election is Tuesday, April 2. If a primary is required for any races, it would be Tuesday, Feb. 19.

City of Stoughton

Five of the City of Stoughton’s 12 aldermanic seats are up for election this year, including that of the Council president.

At least two of those seats will have new people in them come next April, as Alds. Pat O’Connor (Dist. 4) and Denise Duranczyk (D-1) told the Hub they will not run for re-election.

Council president Ald. Tom Majewski (D-3) said he will run for re-election, as will Ald. Timothy Riley (D-1).

Ald. Kathleen “Tass” Johnson (D-2) could not be reached for comment.

School board

Of the three seats up for election on the Stoughton Area school board, at least two will have incumbents on the ballot.

Joe Freye and Yolibeth Fitzgibbon both told the Hub they will seek re-election.

The third, Jill Patterson, wrote in an email to the Hub Nov. 28 that whether she decides to run is a “personal decision I am taking very seriously,” and said she would contact the Hub as soon as she makes it.

Town of Dunkirk

All of the elected offices in the Town of Dunkirk are up for election next spring.

Current officeholders are Chair Norman Monsen, Supervisor I Eric Quam, Supervisor II Ted Olson, Constable Gregory Holte and Treasurer Bonnie Smithback. All incumbents intend to run for their seats.

Pleasant Springs

The Town of Pleasant Springs also has various offices up for election, including its town chair.

Town chair David Pfeiffer and Supervisor II Eric Olson told the Hub they would seek re-election in April. Supervisor I Doug Larsson told the Hub Tuesday that he was undecided on whether he would run again.

Town of Rutland

The Town of Rutland will hold its annual caucus in January to determine nominees for its chair, a supervisor, two constables, clerk and treasurer.

Town chair Mark Porter told the Observer in an email he would seek re-election, though “it somewhat depends on if I’m renominated … and/or if someone else is nominated for the chair position.”

Incumbent Sup. Dave Grueneberg said he plans to seek the nomination again, as will Town Clerk Dawn George and Town Treasurer Kim Sime.

Constable Shawn Hillestad told the Hub he has “not decided” whether to run again yet, and fellow Constable Nels Wethal did not respond to the request for his decision.

Dane County

Voters all around Dane County will have a pair of judgeships on the ballot.

The District 4 Court of Appeals Judge seat is up, with Madison resident Jennifer Nashold filing her statement of campaign, according to the Wisconsin Elections Commission. Incumbent Paul Lundsten has been on the court since 2000, but has not registered a campaign yet.

Incumbent Rhonda Lanford has declared her candidacy for Dane County Circuit Court Branch 16 as well.


Another judicial election is the only statewide race.

State Supreme Court Justice Shirley Abrahamson has announced she will not run for re-election. The race currently include Racine resident Lisa Neubauer and Oconomowoc resident Brian Hagedorn, according to registration statements with the Wisconsin Elections Commission.

Reporters Alexander Cramer and Scott De Laruelle contributed to this article.