Collin Braatz

Senior Collin Braatz swims the butterfly portion of the 200-yard medley relay Tuesday eveing at Monona Grove High School. Braatz joined Blake Anderson, Sam Rohloff and David Stevenson to finish second in 1 minute, 55.85 seconds. Oregon loss the dual meet 109-60.

Oregon boys swimming got a taste of some of the state’s top teams last week, participating in the Sun Prairie Memorial Invitational before opening the Badger South season.

Monona Grove 109, Oregon 60

The Panthers opened the conference dual meet season Tuesday against the four-time defending state champion Silver Eagles.

Oregon senior Collin Braatz and freshman David Stevenson led team-best 2-3 finishes in the 50-yard freestyle and 100 breaststroke.

Braatz was second in the 50 free with a 24.74, and Stevenson was touched out 1:07.67- 1:08.39.

The Panthers finished second and third in the 400 free led by the team of senior Henry Wiedemann, junior Blake Andeson, Braatz and Stevenson (3:56.62).

Oregon was runner-up in the 200 medley (1:55.85) and 200 free relays (1:48.55).

Senior Sam Rohloff, Anderson, Braatz and Stevenson swam on the 200 medley. Freshmen Blake Pankratz and Riley Fahey, Rohloff and Wiedemann were on the 200 free relay.

Sun Prairie invitational

Braatz helped the Oregon boys swimming team score eight of its 19 points Saturday at the Sun Prairie Memorial Invitational.

Braatz helped the Panthers’ 200-yard medley and 200 freestyle relays both score points, and he scored individually in the 50 free.

Oregon’s 200 medley relay of Anderson, Rohloff, and Braatz finished 15th in 1 minutes, 53.34 seconds.

Stevenson, who helped Oregon score seven points, joined Braatz, Henry Wiedemann and Justin Yaun place to help the 200 free relay finish 15th in 1:41.06.

Braatz finished a team-best 11th in the 50 free (24.27) and Stevenson added a 14th-place finish in the 500 free (5:29.64) and a 15th-place finish in the 100 breaststroke (1:08.79).

Oregon finished last out of the 11 teams competing with 19 points.

Madison Memorial didn’t win an event but earned the title with 448.5 points. Sun Prairie was runner-up with 344 points; Eau Claire Memorial/North (258.5) finished third.

Sports editor