Brit Springer will be the next president of the Village of Brooklyn.

She defeated trustee Kyle Smith 157 to 114.

In Rutland, incumbent David Grueneberg defeated challenger David Krueger 326 votes to 184.

Springer’s two-year term in Brooklyn starts April 16, when she takes over for interim president Todd Klahn.

Klahn ran successfully for trustee, as did fellow incumbent Heather Kirkpatrick.

Klahn was named interim president earlier this year after Clayton Schulz resigned because he moved out of the village.

The two were the only names on the ballot for trustee, but the village had three seats to fill. With seven votes, write-in candidate and former village president Pat Hawkey will join Klahn, who garnered 188 votes, and Kirkpatrick, who had 179 votes, on the board. Jim Bakken and Mark Bruner tied with five votes apiece for trustee.

Springer is a multimedia designer who has lived in the village since 2011 and has been a trustee since 2017 and serves on the Recreation and Economic Development committees.

In Rutland, Grueneberg and Krueger had opposed one another in town meetings over issues of noise and dealing with the racetrack.

For constable, incumbents Nels Wethal, with 314 votes, and Shawn Hillested, with 251, beat out challenger Steven Williams, who earned 211 votes.

Peter Loughrin, who was running unopposed, will be the town’s next chair, succeeding Mark Porter.

Contact Alexander Cramer at